The injured South African changes rings for the rematch against Australia

South Africa manager Jacques Nienaber has made eight changes to his side for Saturday’s Rugby Championship clash with Australia, including a debut on the wing for teenage defender Canan Moodie and a move to Flyhalf for Damian Willemse.

Nienaber criticized his side’s performance in last weekend’s 25-17 loss to the Wallabies in Adelaide and has heralded the changes for the Sydney game despite his hand being forced by injuries to a number of key players.

Flyhalf Handre Pollard, center Lukhanyo Am and flanker Pieter-Steph du Toit are absent with knee injuries, while substitute flyhalf Elton Jantjies has a hand problem.

It means a move from full-back to full-back for Willemse, who will be replaced in the No15 shirt by the experienced Willie le Roux.

Jesse Kriel takes over from Am in the middle and flanker Franco Mostert replaces Du Toit. Moodie comes on for Warrick Gelant and Jaden Hendrikse takes over from Faf de Klerk.

The other changes are in the pack as prop Steven Kitshoff and hooker Malcolm Marx replace Ox Nche and Joseph Dweba while Jasper Wiese takes over from Duane Vermeulen in eighth.

“We picked a team that we thought would be the best for this game as we have several injured players and we are keeping an eye on how we want to play,” said Nienaber.

“With both halves of the wing injured, Damian was the natural choice in 10th where he played a lot for us. He is also becoming an established player on our team with over 20 tryouts.

“It will also be a great test for Canan who has been a standout player for the Bulls this season in the United Rugby Championship. He is a very talented player who will enjoy this opportunity.”

Nienaber has come under pressure after an indifferent start to the 2022 season in which the Springboks lost three of their six Tests.

Team: 15 – Willie le Roux, 14 – Canan Moodie, 13 – Jesse Kriel, 12 – Damian de Allende, 11 – Makazole Mapimpi, 10 – Damian Willemse, 9 – Jaden Hendrikse, 8 – Jasper Wiese, 7 – Franco Mostert, 6 – Siya Kolisi (Captain), 5 – Lood de Jager, 4 – Eben Etzebeth, 3 – Frans Malherbe, 2 – Malcolm Marx, 1 – Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 – Deon Fourie, 17 – Ox Nche, 18 – Trevor Nyakane, 19 – Kwagga Smith, 20 – Duane Vermeulen, 21 – Cobus Reinach, 22 – Frans Steyn, 23 – Warrick Gelant